Mango Sauce

Mango Sauce

Okay, I know I have been talking about making some mango sauce this week but one of my mangos just wouldn’t get soft. So, today I got tired of waiting for it and decided to cut them up anyway. The scraps are in one pot and the good stuff in another. I cut the flesh off the seed and cut it into squares and threw it in a pan and covered it with water. I brought it to a boil then turned the heat down and covered it for about an hour. Before I covered it, I added a smidge of allspice (that stuff is powerful. I used like less than 1/8 tsp so like a pinch), and ground ginger, also just a pinch. I threw in a cinnamon stick with the scraps which are also under water.

Mangos in water

After cooking for an hour I checked for doneness. They are done when they are soft enough to smash easily.

Mangos

When they were done, I smashed em until I thought they were a nice consistency and added sugar and lemon juice.

Mashed mangoes

I brought that to a boil and then simmered again briefly just a few more minutes then dumped it all into a sterilized pint jar and lidded it right away. The last mango sauce I did this way, sealed itself. I use a hot jar from the oven and pour the sauce into it hot and lid it carefully so not to get burned. I don’t know if this is a good way to do it but so far it has worked for me.

Mango Sauce

For the scraps,

mango scraps

I boiled those until all the goodness was out of them and then I discarded them saving the juice. I added a bunch of sugar and a little lemon to taste and brought it all to a boil. I added some cornstarch to thicken. Viola! Mango sauce and mango syrup from just two mangos.

Mango Syrup

Cost of Mangos $1.76

One thought on “Mango Sauce

Leave a Reply

